## GOVERNMENT OF ANDHRA PRADESH ENERGY (POWER-III) DEPARTMENT

No.1/2025,

Dated:18/06/2025, A.P. Secretariat, Velagapudi.

# NOTIFICATION CALLING FOR NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBER OF ANDHRA PRADESH STATE ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION

The Andhra Pradesh State Electricity Regulatory Commission was constituted vide G.O.Ms.No.35, Dated 01.08.2014 with a Chairman and two Members. Keeping in view of the vacancy position of Member of the Commission, a Selection Committee for this purpose, has been constituted vide G.O.Ms.No.47, Energy (Power -III) Department, dt.18.06.2025 as per section 85(1) of Electricity Act, 2003.

Hence, it is decided to call for nominations from suitable persons for the post of Member of the Andhra Pradesh State Electricity Regulatory Commission.

The appointments would be made in accordance with the following:-

## I. Qualifications, Term of Office and conditions of Service:

a) The Member of the State Commission shall be *a person, who is, or has been* holding a judicial office or is a person possessing professional qualifications with substantial experience in the practice of law, who has the requisite qualifications to have been appointed as a Judge of the High Court or a District Judge.

b) The Member of the State Commission shall not hold any other office.

c) A person below the age of fifty five years shall not be eligible for appointment as Member.

d) The Member shall hold office for a term of five years from the date of his appointment as Member or until the age of seventy years, whichever is earlier.

(e) The salary, allowances and other terms and conditions of service of the Members shall be prescribed by the State Government in the APERC (Appointment of Chairman and Members) Rules, 1999 as amended from time to time.

Provided that the salary, allowances and other terms and conditions of service of the Members, shall not be varied to their disadvantage after appointment.

(f) The Member shall, before entering upon his/her office, make and subscribe to an oath of office and secrecy in such form and in such manner and before such authority as may be prescribed.

(g) Notwithstanding anything contained above, a member may –

(i) Relinquish his/her office by giving in writing to the State Government a notice of not less than three months; or

(ii) be removed from his/ her office in accordance with the provisions of section-90 of Electricity Act 2003.

(h) The Member ceasing to hold office as such shall –

(i) not accept any commercial employment for a period of two years from the date he/she ceases to hold such office; and

(ii) not represent any person before the State Commission in any manner.

**Explanation:-** For the purposes of this sub-section "commercial employment" means employment in any capacity in any organisation which has been a party to the proceedings before the State Commission or employment in any capacity under, or agency of, a person engaged in trading, commercial, industrial or financial business in electricity industry and includes a director of a company or partner of a firm or setting up practice either independently or as partner of a firm or as an advisor or a consultant.

#### **II.** The Nomination should contain the following:

- a) Bio-data of proposed candidate containing the following details:
  - i) Name
  - ii) Age & Date of Birth
  - iii) Position now held
  - iv) Educational Qualification

v) Details of posts previously held & experience as prescribed under **Qualifications** para- I (a) above.

b) The mere submission of nomination does not confer any right to be appointed as Member of the Commission.

c) The nominations as indicated above are to be sent to the following address. The last date for receipt of nominations is 09/07/2025:-

То

# The Special Chief Secretary to Government, Energy Department, Ground floor, Block -2, A.P. Secretariat, Velagapudi- 522 238. e-mail address: *"tappal-ene01@ap.gov.in"*

d) The above notification is also available in the following websites:-

i) www.ap.gov.inii) www.aperc.gov.in

# K. VIJAYANAND, IAS SPECIAL CHIEF SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT (FAC)