

ANDHRA PRADESH ELECTRICITY REGULATORY COMMISSION

#11-4-660, 4th Floor, Singareni Bhavan, Red Hills, Khairatabad Hyderabad 500 004 Phones: 23397 - 381, 399, 556, 656 Fax: 2339 7378

Lr.No.APERC/Secy/F:T-4/D.No. 422/2022,

Date:15.07.2022.

Sir,

- Sub:- APERC- Not to include the Electricity Duty (ED) in Additional Security Deposit Directions- Issued Reg.
- Ref:- 1. <u>APTMA/013/2022-23</u>, Dated: 02-06-2022
 - 2. APFAPA letter dated 06.06.22
 - 3. <u>Lr.No.APERC/Secy/F:T-4/D.No.352/2022</u>, Date:10.06.2022.
 - 4. <u>Lr. No.ED/RAC&IPC/GM/RAC/SPDCL/TPT/F:APERC/</u> <u>D.No.375/22, dt:25-06-2022</u>
 - 5. <u>Lr. No. CGM/Projects/GM/EE/Dy.EE/PP&RAC/CPDCL/F.45/</u> <u>D.No.152/22, dt.18-06-2022.</u>
 - 6. <u>Lr.No.CGM/RAC,PPA&SE/EPDCL/VSP/RAC/DNo.I/415348/22</u>, <u>dt.30.06.22</u>.

The representations vide the references (1) & (2) above have been received by the Commission from the Andhra Pradesh Textiles Mills Association (APTMA) and the Andhra Pradesh Ferro Alloys Producers Association (APFAPA) requesting not to include electricity duty in Additional Security Deposit (ASD) among other issues. The DISCOMS vide the references (4)-(6) above have submitted their views on this matter.

After examining the relevant regulations and the DISCOMS' views in this regard, the Commission decides that since electricity Duty is not part of consumption charges as defined in Regulation 6 of 2004, the inclusion of the electricity duty in ASD is not proper and legal. Therefore, the Commission hereby directs the DISCOMS not to include the electricity duty while arriving at an additional security deposit (ASD) to be collected from the electricity consumers

henceforth and ASD demands already raised by including the electricity duty on consumers shall be corrected as per the directions in this letter immediately and report compliance.

(By order of the Commission)

Yours faithfully,

Bapaiah

COMMISSION SECRETARY_(I/c)

То

The Chairman & Managing Director/APSPDCL/Tirupati. The Chairman & Managing Director/APCPDCL/Vijayawada. Copy to: The Chairman & Managing Director/APEPDCL/Visakhapatnam. The Andhra Pradesh Textiles Mills Association (APTMA)

The Andhra Pradesh Ferro Alloys Producers Association (APFAPA)